Credit Card Processing
Last updated 08 August 2017
Heroku accepts standard credit cards. To learn how Heroku calculates billing, please see Usage & Billing.
An invoice with the status of Pending is one that has not yet been charged. Usually this will be for the most recent completed billing cycle, i.e. the previous month. This invoice will be charged automatically within a few days without any action required on your part (so make sure your billing information is up-to-date).
Once the payment is placed, the invoice will be updated to either a Paid or Declined status.
Every account with invoices of one dollar or more are placed into our automatic payment system. You will receive an e-mail with your invoice summary 24 to 48 hours in advance, notifying you that we will be charging cards.
You do not have to worry about remembering to pay your bill unless the payment is declined three times or more.
Sometimes attempted payments are declined. If this happens, you will receive an e-mail notifying you that we will be re-attempting to charge your card. You may use this time to update your billing information from your account page if needed.
Our credit card processing service does not specify the reason for declined charges, so if the payment continues to fail we recommend contacting your credit card provider for further information. You may also want to wait 24 hours and try paying your balance again, in case the issue was temporary.
Removing a credit card
If you need to remove your credit card from your account for any reason, you can do so from the Billing tab of your account settings in the Heroku Dashboard.
If your account includes provisioned resources that require a credit card (e.g., Hobby-tier dynos or above), you must remove these resources before your credit card can be removed. Additionally, you must first finalize all outstanding Heroku invoices. If you have an outstanding invoice, you will receive an email with information on how to complete the payment process. After all invoices are resolved and your account is using only free resources, you can continue with the credit card removal process.
Although you can use free accounts without being verified, a credit card is required for account verification. Only verified accounts can provision and use paid resources.
After you remove your credit card, you cannot add it back or re-verify your account for 30 days.