Third-Party Buildpacks

Last Updated: 19 February 2015

Table of Contents

The following is a list of third-party buildpacks available for use with your Heroku apps. These buildpacks enable you to use languages and frameworks beyond those officially supported by Heroku.

Third-party buildpacks contain software that is not under Heroku’s control and are not supported by Heroku. Please inspect the source of any buildpack you plan to use and proceed with caution.

If you have questions about the build process on Heroku, consider discussing it in the Build forums.

Third-party buildpacks

Name Description Author Buildpack URL
C A buildpack for running C application using make Atri Sharma https://github.com/atris/heroku-buildpack-C
Common Lisp Buildpack for Common Lisp web applications, including SQL and AJAX support Mike Travers https://github.com/mtravers/heroku-buildpack-cl
Core Data Buildpack that generates a REST webservice from a Core Data model Mattt Thompson https://github.com/heroku/heroku-buildpack-core-data
Dart Run Dart VM apps Ilya Grigorik https://github.com/igrigorik/heroku-buildpack-dart
Eiffel A buildpack for Eiffel applications Mauricio Bustos https://github.com/mbustosorg/heroku-buildpack-eiffel
Elixir A buildpack for Elixir applications Akash Manohar https://github.com/hashnuke/heroku-buildpack-elixir
Emacs For running Emacs Lisp web applications using Elnode. (highly experimental) Phil Hagelberg https://github.com/technomancy/heroku-buildpack-emacs
Embedded Proxy A buildpack for proxying to an embedded buildpack within a project Ryan Brainard https://github.com/ryanbrainard/heroku-buildpack-embedded-proxy
Erlang Buildpack for rebar compatible Erlang/OTP R15B systems Geoff Cant https://github.com/archaelus/heroku-buildpack-erlang
Factor Buildpack for the Factor language Ryan Brainard https://github.com/ryanbrainard/heroku-buildpack-factor
Fakesu Build your app into a rootless chroot jail Fabio Kung https://github.com/fabiokung/heroku-buildpack-fakesu
GeoDjango Installs core dependencies for GeoDjango, including GDAL 3.3.2, Proj.4 4.7.0, and GDAL 1.8.1 CIR Labs https://github.com/cirlabs/heroku-buildpack-geodjango
Go Build Go programs Keith Rarick https://github.com/kr/heroku-buildpack-go
Haskell Deploying Haskell web apps quickly using GHC, GHCi and any Haskell web framework, examples provided. Miëtek Bak https://github.com/mietek/haskell-on-heroku
Inline Makes the app its own buildpack Keith Rarick https://github.com/kr/heroku-buildpack-inline
Java/Ant Builds Java apps using Apache Ant Dennis Geurts https://github.com/dennisg/heroku-buildpack-ant
Jekyll Builds Jekyll sites on deployment Matt Manning https://github.com/mattmanning/heroku-buildpack-ruby-jekyll
Lua Buildpack for running Lua web applications. Comes bundled with LuaRocks. Leaf Corcoran https://github.com/leafo/heroku-buildpack-lua
Luvit Build luvit apps Karl Skomski https://github.com/Skomski/heroku-buildpack-luvit
Meteor A buildpack for running Meteor apps Jordan Sissel https://github.com/jordansissel/heroku-buildpack-meteor
Middleman Builds Middleman sites on deployment Mitchell Hashimoto https://github.com/hashicorp/heroku-buildpack-middleman
Monit Run Monit, the open source monitoring utility, on Heroku Matias Korhonen https://github.com/k33l0r/monit-buildpack
Multi Composable buildpacks Heroku https://github.com/heroku/heroku-buildpack-multi
Nanoc Compile and serve a nanoc site on Heroku Justin Hileman https://github.com/bobthecow/heroku-buildpack-nanoc
.NET A buildpack for .NET and ASP.NET apps using Mono and nginx Michael Friis https://github.com/friism/heroku-buildpack-mono
Null A buildpack that runs executable files Ryan Smith https://github.com/ryandotsmith/null-buildpack
Opa Buildpack for Opa apps Tristan Sloughter https://github.com/tsloughter/heroku-buildpack-opa
Perl A buildpack that runs Perl/PSGI apps Tatsuhiko Miyagawa https://github.com/miyagawa/heroku-buildpack-perl
Perl Buildpack for Apache2/mod_perl apps Lincoln Stoll https://github.com/lstoll/heroku-buildpack-perl
PhantomJS Buildpack for PhantomJS apps Shinichi Tomita https://github.com/stomita/heroku-buildpack-phantomjs
Phing Buildpack for PHP apps built with Phing Ryan Brainard https://github.com/ryanbrainard/heroku-buildpack-phing
R A buildpack for R for Statistical Computing Chris Stefano https://github.com/virtualstaticvoid/heroku-buildpack-r
Rust A buildpack for Rust Eric Kidd https://github.com/emk/heroku-buildpack-rust
Redline Smalltalk A buildpack for Redline Smalltalk on the JVM Will Leinweber https://github.com/will/heroku-buildpack-redline
Silex Buildpack for apps built with the Silex PHP framework Klaus Silveira https://github.com/klaussilveira/heroku-buildpack-silex
Sphinx Sphinx documentation buildpack Kenneth Reitz https://github.com/kennethreitz/sphinx-buildpack
Test A buildpack for testing things David Dollar https://github.com/ddollar/buildpack-test
Testing Buildpacks Testing framework for buildpacks Ryan Brainard https://github.com/ryanbrainard/heroku-buildpack-testrunner

If you’d like to have your buildpack added to this list, please send an email to buildpacks@heroku.com

Using a custom buildpack

You can specify the git URL of a buildpack when creating a new app:

$ heroku create myapp --buildpack https://github.com/some/buildpack.git

You can change the buildpack for an existing app using the CLI:

$ heroku buildpack:set https://github.com/some/buildpack.git -a myapp

You can also specify an exact commit in your Buildpack URL (a good safety precaution when using external code):

$ heroku buildpack:set "https://github.com/some/buildpack.git#01applications

You can return to using the default Buildpack by running this command:

$ heroku buildpack:unset