Last updated June 16, 2023
Table of Contents
Account management occurs in the Heroku Dashboard. Log in with your Heroku account.
Changing Your Email Address
You can change your email address on your account page.
After submitting an email address change, you must verify the change by clicking a link sent via email to the new address. When clicking this link, you must be logged into Heroku. If you’re not logged in, log in with your old email address.
Deleting and Off-Boarding Applications
You can retain your applications’ configuration on the platform while off-boarding and removing any associated paid services by completing these steps.
- Get a copy of your database and other add-on data. For guidance on how to retrieve your add-on’s information, see your add-on provider’s documentation.
- Downgrade services by disabling dynos and autoscaling, and by destroying paid add-ons.
- Create a new team to retain the applications.
- Transfer the off-boarded applications to the team.
You can see your off-boarded applications in the Dashboard’s context switcher menu, where your team(s) and personal apps are listed. This display ensures that your application’s code, name, configuration variables, and other free services are retained without accruing costs.
You can also delete applications with the CLI command
heroku apps:destroy or via the Dashboard by visiting your app’s settings page. This deletion is permanent.
You can close your account by visiting your account page. At the bottom of the page, there’s a link to close your account.
If you have an unpaid balance, you must pay it before you can close the account. Older invoices can be settled from the pay balance page. Newer invoices can have a future date on which they’re scheduled to be charged.
To make sure that no additional balance accrues while you wait for final payment processing, delete all apps on your account.
Alternatively, to expedite payment for any remaining balance so that you can then close the account, use the
Remove Credit Card feature on your billing page. However,
Remove Credit Card isn’t available for Heroku Team accounts, as teams must have a credit card on file at all times.
If you’re the only admin of an Enterprise Team, before you can delete your account, you must delete the team or designate another person as an admin.
If you want to close your personal account but still want access to Enterprise teams that you belong to, ask a team admin to set you up as a federated user.
Auto-Deletion of Inactive Accounts
Heroku automatically deletes inactive accounts. An account is inactive if its owner hasn’t logged into the Dashboard, CLI, or API in the last 365 days, and no paid resources were used with Heroku in the last 6 months. To keep your account active, you must log into your account.