Cedar-14 app build brownout schedule

Change effective on 01 October 2020

On April 3, 2020, we communicated the extension of the Cedar-14 EOL window to November 2, 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Today, we are announcing intentional Cedar-14 build brownouts on October 19 and October 26 to bring awareness to the impending EOL. During these brownouts Cedar-14 apps will continue to run, but you will not be able to build and deploy new versions, emulating the Cedar-14 EOL window closure.

Cedar-14 EOL time table:

  • May 3, 2018: Heroku announced deprecation of Cedar-14 for April 2019.
  • May 1, 2019: EOL window for Cedar-14 began. Apps on Cedar-14 will continue to run, build, and receive security updates. Apps and builds running on later stacks will not be affected.
  • April 3, 2020: Postponed the Cedar-14 Build EOL to November 2nd, 2020.
  • October 19, 2020: First intentional build brownout for Cedar-14 apps at the following time:
    • UTC: 17:00 - 21:00
    • EDT: 13:00 - 17:00
    • PDT: 10:00 - 14:00
  • October 26, 2020: Second intentional build brownout for Cedar-14 apps at the following time:
    • UTC: 14:00 - 18:00
    • EDT: 10:00 - 14:00
    • PDT: 7:00 - 11:00
  • November 2, 2020: The updated EOL window for Cedar-14 will end. Apps on Cedar-14 will continue to run, but will not build or receive security updates. Apps running on later stacks will not be affected.

We advise you to upgrade your apps to a more recent stack as soon as possible.

To get a list of your apps that use Cedar-14, run the following two commands:

$ heroku plugins:install apps-table
$ heroku apps:table --filter="STACK=cedar-14"

You can also show apps by team:

$ heroku apps:table --team=my-team --filter="STACK=cedar-14"

See the Cedar-14 End-of-Life FAQ for more information.